National Olympic Committee of the Republic of Belarus
15 May 2019
Female and Youth membership of IOC Commissions at an all-time high
The International Olympic Committee (IOC) today announced the composition of its commissions for 2019. The composition is marked by further growth in the female membership, three additional female chairs and a significant increase in young change-makers’ participation.

With 45.4 per cent of the positions across its 27 commissions now occupied by women – a historic high – the IOC continues its advance towards gender equality. Since 2013, as a result of Olympic Agenda 2020, female participation in the IOC commissions has more than doubled. In addition, three more IOC commissions are now chaired by women.

“Gender equality, both on and off the field of play, is one of the key focus areas of Olympic Agenda 2020,” said President Bach. “With the number of female athletes participating at the Olympic Games, we are practically there for Tokyo 2020. Off the field of play, we will continue our efforts, but we are very proud of having reached such strong female and youth participation in a very short time.”

Along with gender equality, youth representation in its commissions has been another priority for the IOC.  Honouring his commitment made during the Youth Summit in Tokyo last December, IOC President Thomas Bach has increased the positions held by Young Change-Makers* (YCMs) across the IOC commissions, from 7 in 2018 to 16 in 2019.

“It is crucial to give a voice to young people if we want to stay relevant,” said President Bach. “Last October, over 100 Young Change-Makers took part in the Olympism in Action Forum and brought a youthful perspective on how to make a better world through sport. Their level of commitment in their respective communities across the world is an inspiration for all of us. By empowering tomorrow’s leaders, we give them the opportunity to shape their future”, he added.

Another highlight of the announcement is the composition of the IOC Coordination Commission for the Olympic Games Los Angeles 2028. It will be chaired by Nicole Hoevertsz, IOC Member in Aruba and a member of the IOC Executive Board. A former synchronised swimmer who competed at the Olympic Games Los Angeles 1984, Hoevertsz has also been appointed Vice-Chair of the Coordination Commission for Paris 2024, thus strengthening the close collaboration and sharing of best practices between the two Organising Committees and the two cities, following the double allocation of the Olympic Games 2024 and 2028.

New chairs have been appointed for the following six IOC commissions: Richard L. Carrión for the Olympic Channel, Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski for Olympic Education, Sari Essayah for Sport and Active Society, Jiri Kejval for Marketing, Robin E. Mitchell for Olympic Solidarity, and Luis Alberto Moreno for Public Affairs and Social Development through Sport.

A list of all the commissions can be found here.