National Olympic Committee of the Republic of Belarus
29 August 2019
Ekaterina Karsten retires from sport

Today, on August 29, in the National Olympic Committee of the Republic of Belarus, two-time Olympic champion in rowing, six-time world champion Ekaterina Karsten announced her retirement from sport.

“I want to thank everyone who helped me organize my training: the Ministry of Sports, the National Olympic Committee, the federation, my mentors - Anatoly Ivanovich, Norbert Laderman, also the coaches of the national team, all the doctors who worked with me, the masseurs and my partners - Yuliya Bichyk and Yelena Khloptseva. I want to thank my fans and journalists for following my progress. Thanks to my family, who always supported me. Thanks to everyone!” said Ekaterina Karsten at the beginning of the press conference.

Responding to journalists' questions, the legendary Belarusian athlete noted that she was preparing for her eighth Olympics, but on the eve of the World Championship in Linz (Austria), Ekaterina Karsten broke her tenth rib and decided to skip the world sports forum where licenses for the Olympic Games in Tokyo 2020 are played out, and finish her career.

“Now I’m leaving for Germany, to my family, but after that I plan to return to Belarus. I definitely don’t plan to do coaching”, said the two-time Olympic champion.

The first coach of the athlete Anatoly Kvyatkovsky and two-time Olympic bronze medalist Yuliya Bichyk thanked Ekaterina for her athletic achievements.


Ekaterina Karsten is glad to share her experience with the younger generation. So, on September 2, she will participate in the Olympic lesson “Knowledge is power!”, which will be held in the Olympic Hall of the NOC of Belarus.


Ekaterina Karsten won two gold medals at the Olympic Games in Atlanta 1996 and Sydney 2000, a silver medal at the Olympic Games Athens 2004, two Olympic bronzes at Barcelona 1992 and Beijing 2008. The first Olympic champion in the history of sovereign Belarus and also a six-time world champion. She was awarded the Order of the Fatherland of I, II and III degrees (2008, 2004 and 2000, respectively), the Order of Honor (1997), the medal "For Labor Merits" (2008) and many other awards.