National Olympic Committee of the Republic of Belarus
19 January 2020
Lausanne 2020.The winners in ski sprint event were decided

The winners and prize winners of the most spectacular cross-country skiing – sprint – were decided in the ski center Vallée de Joux at the III Winter Youth Olympic Games.

In men's event Edvin Anger from Sweden is on the top of the podium – 3 min. 10,47 sec (distance 1500 m). The other two places of the podium belong to the Norwegians. Nikolai Holmbe took second place, and his brother Alexander is third.

The best athlete of the Belarusian team was Gleb Shakel, who, according to the results of the qualification, took 32nd place. He lacked only two positions to reach the quarter finals of the sprint. 


Another Belarusian athlete Mikhail Morozov finished 68th.

In women's ski sprint event Siri Wigger from Switzerland won gold medal - 2 min. 46.40 seconds (1200 m). Anna Heggen from Norway won silver medal, and Maerta Rosenberg from Sweden won bronze medal. 


Belarusian athletes finished the sprint event at the qualification stage. Anna Machahina took 50th place, Darya Mayorava was placed on the 59th line on the final protocol.

Cross-country skiing competitions will continue on January 21. 5 km race for girls and 10 km for boys in the classic skiing technique.

On the tenth day of the competition in Lausanne the competitions in slopestyle were cancelled due to weather conditions.  On January 19, eight sets of the medals were awarded. Besides skiing event, the medals were also awarded in skeleton, ski jumping, freestyle and bobsled.

Two awards are in the asset of the Belarusian team at the III Winter Youth Olympic Games:  Illia Korzun’s gold in 3x3 hockey and Yulia Kovaleuskaya’s bronze medal in biathlon. The competitions in Lausanne will end on January 22.

Winter Youth Olympics in Lausanne will end on January 22.

For more information, contact the press secretary of the NOC of Belarus Victoria Mennanova (+375291708753, Telegram, Viber, WhatsApp).

Press Service NOC Belarus

Photo: The NOC Belarus and